HOME     I     CURRENT SEASON     I     CLUB DIRECTORY     I     HISTORY         SEASON ARCHIVE     I     PLAYER ARCHIVE     I     THE HAWTHORNS     I     WEBSITE
      HISTORY : LOCAL CUPS : BIRMINGHAM CUP : RESULTS - 1889/90 - 1898/99

  Click on an opponent for full match details where available.

Opposition goalscorers in italics, * signifies scorer unknown.

1898/99

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Mon 19 Dec  Wellington St. George H 1 5-0  Bassett 2, Hadley, Nock, S Brett        750
 Mon 16 Jan  Wolverhampton W H 2 0-7  McMain, Blackett, Tonks 2, Beats 3     2,474

1897/98

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Mon 13 Dec  Burslem Port Vale A 1 0-0     6,000
 Mon 17 Jan  Burslem Port Vale (1) H replay 0-0     3,000
 Mon 07 Feb  Burslem Port Vale H 2nd replay 2-1 aet  Richards, Flewitt - Simpson     3,500
 
 Albion withdrew from the competition ahead of the second round where they were due to play Burton Wanderers.
 1 - Burslem Port Vale reportedly refused to play extra-time.

1896/97

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Mon 25 Jan  Aston Villa H 2 2-1  Cameron, Watson - Devey     4,000
 Sat 20 Feb  Wolverhampton W (1) N SF 0-3  *     6,800
 
 Albion received a bye in round one.
 1 - Played at Wellington Road, Perry Barr, Aston Villa FC.

1895/96

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Mon 20 Jan  Aston Villa A 1 0-3  Campbell, Devey, Rideout     7,000

1894/95

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Sat 19 Jan  Walsall Town Swifts (1) H 1 6-2  Williams (pen), Hutchinson 2, Bassett 2, Taggart - A Roberts     5,000
     W Roberts
 Mon 11 Feb  Burton Wanderers (2) A 2 1-1  Hutchinson - Capes     2,000
 Mon 18 Mar  Small Heath (3) N SF 3-2 aet  Hutchinson, McLeod, T Perry - *     5,100
 Sat 30 Mar  Aston Villa (4) N Final 0-0   12,000
 Mon 29 Apr  Aston Villa (5) N replay 1-0  Hutchinson   14,200
   
 Albion win the competition for the second time.
 1 - Some reports give the Albion goalscorers as Williams (pen), Hutchinson, Richards, Bassett and C Perry 2.
 2 - Some sources give the date of the game as Friday 1 February. Burton later refused to play a replay.
 3 - Played at Molineux, Wolverhampton FC. Some reports credit two of the Albion goals to Tom Hutchinson.
 4 - Played at Coventry Road, Small Heath FC.
 5 - Played at Aston Lower Grounds.

1893/94

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Mon 29 Jan  Walsall Town Swifts A 1 1-0  Bassett     3,150
 Mon 12 Feb  Burslem Port Vale H 2 3-1  McLeod, Pearson, Bostock - Wood     2,100
 Sat 17 Mar  Loughborough (1) N SF 6-1  Boston 2, Geddes, McLeod 3 (1 pen)  - Farmer     3,000
 Sat 21 Apr  Wolverhampton W (2) N Final 3-3  Bostock, Geddes, Bassett - Edge, Malpass, Kinsey     8,000
   
 1 - Played at Aston Lower Grounds. Loughborough played the game with ten men. Some reports credit Charlie Perry with one of the Albion goals.
 2 - Played at Wellington Road, Perry Barr, Aston Villa FC. Trophy shared. Albion, who were down to ten men following an injury to Sammy Nicholls,
      refused to play extra-time.

1892/93

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Mon 23 Jan  Stoke H 1 3-0  Horton, T Perry, McLeod     3,500
 Mon 27 Mar  Wolverhampton W A 2 1-3  McLeod - Horton (og), Griffin, Wood     4,000

1891/92

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Sat 02 Jan  Wednesbury Old Athletic H 3 2-2  Nicholls 2 - Conway, *     2,500
 Mon 15 Feb  Wednesbury Old Athletic A replay 2-1  Nicholls, Groves - *     3,500
 Mon 28 Mar  Small Heath H 4 4-1  C Perry, Nicholls, McLeod, Geddes - *     4,000
 Sat 09 Apr  Aston Villa (1) N SF 2-0  G Campbell (og), McLeod     8,000
 Sat 30 Apr  Wolverhampton W (2) N Final 2-5  Reynolds, Bassett - Wykes, Devey 2, Heath, Booth     6,500
   
 Albion received a bye in rounds one and two.
 1 - Played at Molineux, Wolverhampton. Some reports credit Albion's second goal to Sammy Nicholls instead of Roddy McLeod.
 2 - Played at Wellington Road, Perry Barr. Some reports credit Albion's second goal to Harry Wood instead of Billy Bassett.

1890/91

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Sat 17 Jan  Small Heath (1) H 1 3-2  C Perry, Burns, Nicholls - Devey 2     3,000
 Mon 16 Mar  Warwick County (2) H 2 6-0  S Nicholls, T Perry, Pearson 3, Bassett     2,600
 Sat 11 Apr  Aston Villa (3) N SF 2-2  Dyer, Woodhall - McKnight, G Campbell   12,000
 Mon 20 Apr  Aston Villa (4) N replay 1-1 aet  Haynes - McKnight     5,000
 Wed 22 Apr  Aston Villa (5) N 2nd replay 2-3  Woodhall 2 - *     6,700
 
 1 - Some reports give Albion's goalscorers as Perry, Burns and Woodhall.
 2 - Albion played two games on this day with the squad split for the two fixtures.
 3 - Played at Warwickshire County Cricket Ground, Edgbaston. Some reports credit Tom Pearson with Albion's first goal as opposed to Frank Dyer.
 4 - Played at Molineux, Wolverhampton. Extra-time lasted 20 minutes.
 5 - Played at Molineux, Wolverhampton.

1889/90

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

   GATE

 Thu 23 Jan  Notts Rangers (1) A 1 3-0  Pearson, Evans 2     3,000
 Mon 17 Feb  Small Heath H 2 2-0  Pearson 2     1,500
 Sat 05 Apr  Walsall Town Swifts (2) N SF 2-1  Evans 2 - C Holmes     5,500
 Sat 19 Apr  Aston Villa (3) A Final 0-2  Dickson, Allen     8,000
 
 1 - Played at Meadow Lane, Nottingham. Reports state that due to Rangers fielding several ineligible players, they conceded the tie
      before kick-off, therefore the game was played as a friendly. Some sources give the score as 4-0 to Albion with a hat-trick from Sauve.
 2 - Played at the Oval, Wednesbury.
 3 - Some sources credit both goals to Allen.



  HOME      CURRENT SEASON       CLUB DIRECTORY      HISTORY      SEASON ARCHIVE      PLAYER ARCHIVE      THE HAWTHORNS      WEBSITE  
 © www.albiontillwedie.co.uk unless otherwise stated