HOME     I     CURRENT SEASON     I     CLUB DIRECTORY     I     HISTORY         SEASON ARCHIVE     I     PLAYER ARCHIVE     I     THE HAWTHORNS     I     WEBSITE
      SEASON ARCHIVE : RESULTS - 1984/85

Click on an opponent for full match details where available.

 

Opposition goalscorers in italics, * signifies goalscorer unknown.

CANON LEAGUE DIVISION ONE

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A F-A SCORERS   GATE POS
 Sat 25 Aug  Queens Park Rangers A 1-3 Mackenzie - Stainrod 2, Fenwick  12,683 20
 Mon 27 Aug  Everton H 2-1 Hunt, Thompson - Heath (pen)  14,062 10
 Sat 01 Sep  Luton Town H 4-0 Hunt, Regis, N Cross, Thompson  11,653 3
 Wed 05 Sep  Norwich City A 1-2 Grealish - Farrington, Mendham  13,070 7
 Sat 08 Sep  Sunderland A 1-1 Thompson - Berry  18,206 11
 Sat 15 Sep  Sheffield Wednesday H 2-2 Thompson 2 - Varadi, Shelton  16,428 11
 Sat 22 Sep  Leicester City A 1-2 N Cross - Lynex 2 (1 pen)  11,960 16
 Sat 29 Sep  Manchester United H 1-2 Thompson (pen) - Robson, Strachan (pen)  26,292 17
 Sat 06 Oct  Liverpool A 0-0  29,346 17
 Sat 13 Oct  Nottingham Forest H 4-1 Mackenzie, Thompson 3 - Bowyer  12,991 13
 Sat 20 Oct  Ipswich Town A 0-2 Sunderland, Gates  14,325 15
 Sat 27 Oct  Southampton H 0-0  12,461 16
 Sat 03 Nov  Tottenham Hotspur A 3-2 Statham (pen), D Cross, Mackenzie - Hazard, Chiedozie  24,494 14
 Sat 10 Nov  Stoke City H 2-0 Hunt, Mackenzie  12,173 12
 Sat 17 Nov  Chelsea A 1-3 Thompson - Speedie 2, Rougvie  17,573 13
 Sat 24 Nov  Coventry City H 5-2 Thompson, Valentine, Statham, Mackenzie, Grealish - Barnes, Regis  12,618 12
 Sat 01 Dec  West Ham United A 2-0 Hunt, Thompson  15,572 9
 Sat 08 Dec  Watford H 2-1 Thompson, D Cross - Barnes  13,513 6
 Sat 15 Dec  Arsenal A 0-4 Davis (pen), Talbot, Allinson 2  23,728 9
 Tue 18 Dec  Luton Town A 2-1 Thompson, Statham (pen) - Foster    7,286 5
 Wed 26 Dec  Newcastle United H 2-1 Hunt, Thompson - Baird  20,303 5
 Sat 29 Dec  Norwich City H 0-1 Channon  13,754 8
 Tue 01 Jan  Aston Villa A 1-3 Statham (pen) - Gibson, Birch, Rideout  31,710 10
 Sat 12 Jan  Sheffield Wednesday A 0-2 Chapman, Varadi  24,345 11
 Sat 26 Jan  Queens Park Rangers H 0-0    9,194 11
 Sat 02 Feb  Manchester United A 0-2 Strachan 2  36,681 11
 Sat 23 Feb  Tottenham Hotspur H 0-1 Falco  16,159 12
 Sat 02 Mar  Southampton A 3-4 Valentine, Thompson 2 - Armstrong, Wallace, Baird 2  15,842 13
 Tue 12 Mar  Stoke City A 0-0    6,942 14
 Sat 16 Mar  Nottingham Forest A 2-1 N Cross, Owen - Davenport  12,663 11
 Sat 23 Mar  Liverpool H 0-5 Nicol, Dalglish, Wark 3  20,319 12
 Sat 30 Mar  Leicester City H 2-0 Hunt 2    9,323 12
 Wed 03 Apr  Ipswich Town H 1-2 Hunt - Wilson, d'Avray    8,036 13
 Sat 06 Apr  Newcastle United A 0-1 Beardsley  22,694 12
 Mon 08 Apr  Aston Villa H 1-0 Valentine  20,936 11
 Tue 16 Apr  Everton A 1-4 Grealish - Atkins, Sharp 2 (1 pen), Sheedy  29,671 11
 Sat 20 Apr  Chelsea H 0-1 Dixon  11,079 13
 Wed 24 Apr  Sunderland H 1-0 N Cross    7,423 11
 Sat 27 Apr  Coventry City A 1-2 Mackenzie - Barnes, Hibbitt  10,329 13
 Sat 04 May  West Ham United H 5-1 Hunt, Mackenzie 2, Grealish, N Cross - Stewart (pen)    8,834 11
 Tue 07 May  Watford A 2-0 Thompson, Owen  14,074 11
 Sat 11 May  Arsenal H 2-2 Valentine, Thompson - Allinson, Robertson (og)  13,326 11

FA CUP

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

    GATE

 Sat 05 Jan  Orient A 3 1-2  N Cross - Silkman, Cadette      7,061

MILK CUP

 DATE OPPONENT H/A ROUND F-A  SCORERS

  GATE

 Tue 25 Sep Wigan Athletic A 2-1st leg 0-0 (1)    6,209
 Wed 10 Oct Wigan Athletic H 2-2nd leg 3-1 (1)  Hunt, Thompson, N Cross - Methven    8,133
 Tue 30 Oct Birmingham City A 3 0-0  17,616
 Wed 07 Nov Birmingham City H 3 rep 3-1  Thompson, Robertson, D Cross - Shearer  16,717
 Tue 20 Nov Watford A 4 1-4  D Cross - Reilly, Blissett, Taylor, Terry  16,378
 
 1 - Two legged tie, Albion won 3-1 on aggregate.

FRIENDLIES

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A F-A  SCORERS    GATE
 Tue 07 Aug  Walsall (1) A 1-3  Lewis - *       200
 Wed 15 Aug  Walsall (1) H 2-0  Mower (og), Hunt       150
 Sat 18 Aug  Oldham Athletic A 1-0  Bennett    3,000
 Mon 20 Aug  Stockport County A 3-2  Thompson 2, McNaught - Williams 2    1,792
 Wed 03 Oct  Orgryte IS (2) A 2-2  Grealish, Forsyth - *    2,588
 Tue 23 Oct  Hong Kong XI A 3-0  Grealish, Thompson 2    8,022
 Wed 30 Jan  Tunisian XI (3) A 1-1  M Giles - *    2,550
 Tue 19 Feb  Scunthorpe United A 0-0       387
 
 1 - 'Private' friendly.
 2 - Game played at Rimnersvallen, Uddevalla, Sweden, for the Swenglish Cup.
 3 - Played in Tunis.

TESTIMONIAL / BENEFIT GAMES

 DATE  OPPONENT H/A F-A  SCORERS     GATE
 Fri 03 Aug  Newport County (1) A 1-2  Hunt - Boyle, Kent      1,535
 Wed 08 Aug  Doncaster Rovers (2) A 3-3  Thompson 2, Regis - Russell, I Snodin 2 (1 pen)      2,535
 Mon 17 Sep  Grimsby Town (3) A 2-1  N Cross, Morley - *      1,120
 Mon 13 May  Bristol City (4) A 4-2  Whitehead, Thompson, N Cross, Mackenzie - *      1,823
 Fri 17 May  Aston Villa (5) A 3-3  Mackenzie (pen), Grealish, Thompson - *      7,858
 
 1 - John Relish Testimonial Match.
 2 - Willie Boyd Testimonial Match.
 3 - Joe Waters Testimonial Match.
 4 - John Shaw Testimonial Match.
 5 - Bradford City FC Fire Disaster Fund.


  HOME      CURRENT SEASON       CLUB DIRECTORY      HISTORY      SEASON ARCHIVE      PLAYER ARCHIVE      THE HAWTHORNS      WEBSITE  
 © www.albiontillwedie.co.uk unless otherwise stated